Hanson to judge at Independent Music Awards

By | June 2, 2009

Hanson formed in Tulsa, Oklahoma by brothers Isaac, Taylor, and Zac Hanson. They are best known for the 1997 hit song “MMMBop” from their major label debut album Middle of Nowhere that earned three Grammy nominations. Despite the enormous commercial success of Middle of Nowhere, the band suffered from the merge that eliminated Mercury Records and were moved to Island Def Jam Music Group. After a three year struggle, depicted in the documentary film Strong Enough to Break by Ashley Greyson, the brothers left Island Def Jam Records. The band now records under its own label, 3CG Records, and has distribution deals through Alternative Distribution Alliance in the United States, Cooking Vinyl in Europe and Sony BMG in Asia. Released on April 20, 2004, Underneath debuted at #1 on Billboard Top Independent Albums chart and #25 on the Billboard 200 album chart, making Underneath one of the most successful self-released albums of all time. On September 10, 2007, Hanson began “The Walk Tour” in Nashville. During tours, Hanson continues their work against poverty and AIDS in Africa, partnering with American company, TOMS Shoes. The band hosts 1-mile walks before each show and donates money for each participant towards helping to fight poverty in Africa. Hanson is currently working on a 2009 release and in the meantime, Taylor is playing select shows as frontman for Tinted Windows, his collaboration with Bun E.Carlos of Cheap Trick , Adam Schlesinger of Fountains of Wayne , and ex-Smashing Pumpkins member James Iha. Their official website is www.Hanson.net.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *