Video: Hanson releases orchestral version of ‘MMMBop’ to celebrate debut of new album ‘String Theory’

By | November 10, 2018



It should come as no surprise to fans and followers of Tulsa-based sibling trio Hanson that a rendition of the band’s 1990s breakout smash “MMMBop” featuring a full symphony orchestra sounds completely natural and lovely.

As previously reported, the new version of “MMMBop” is included on the band’s new double album “String Theory,” out today via their Tulsa-based 3CG Records.

The album features brothers Isaac, Taylor and Zac Hanson revisiting popular titles in their catalog and performing new or previously unreleased songs, all while backed by a symphony orchestra. The pieces are arranged by Oscar winner and composer David Campbell.

Also as previously reported, in the midst of playing shows and finishing up the album, Hanson decided to turn the unique process into a documentary series titled “Reaching for the Sky,” which you can access on YouTube.

Hanson has been on the road playing the new arrangements on the “String Theory Tour,” which will kick into high gear in October. The tour will come back to Hanson’s hometown for a May 17 show live with symphony orchestra at the Tulsa Performing Arts Center. For tickets and information, click here.

Hanson. Photo provided

Hanson’s “String Theory” track listing:

Disc 1

  1. Reaching For The Sky (Part 1)

  2. Joyful Noise

  3. Where’s The Love

  4. Dream It Do It

  5. MmmBop

  6. Chasing Down My Dreams

  7. Tragic Symphony

  8. Got A Hold On Me

  9. Yearbook

  10. Siren Call

  11. Me Myself And I

Disc 2

  1. Reaching For The Sky (Part 2)

  2. This Time Around

  3. Something Going Round

  4. Battle Cry

  5. You Can’t Stop Us

  6. Broken Angel

  7. What Are We Fighting For

  8. Breaktown

  9. No Rest For The Weary

  10. I Was Born

  11. Sound of Light

  12. Tonight


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *