Video: Hanson to release long-awaited holiday album ‘Finally It’s Christmas’

By | October 4, 2017


Tulsa-based pop-rock trio Hanson have announced the Oct. 27 release of their long-awaited new holiday album “Finally It’s Christmas” (3CG Records / S-Curve Records). Album cover art provided

On the heels of their 25th anniversary celebration with sold-out concerts in Europe, Australia and Latin America on their “Middle Of Everywhere” world tour and greatest hits compilation release, Tulsa-based pop-rock trio Hanson have announced the Oct. 27 release of their long-awaited new holiday album “Finally It’s Christmas” (3CG Records / S-Curve Records).

The release is timed to mark the 20th anniversary of the Oklahoma band’s first yuletide release, “Snowed In.”

The new Christmas album, which features four original tracks, and eight updated classics, reunites the band with S-Curve President Steve Greenberg who originally signed the band to Mercury Records in 1996, as well as co-producer and writing partner Mark Hudson (Aerosmith, Ozzy Osborne, Ringo Starr) who also collaborated on “Snowed In.” Adding to the production pedigree of the release are engineer and mixer CJ Eiriksson (Jacks Mannequin, U2, Phish, Matchbox 20), with the title and select tracks mixed by veteran chart-topper Tom Lord-Alge (U2, Rolling Stones, Billy Joel, The Wallflowers), according to a news release.

In contrast with the sentimentality of many Christmas releases, the Hanson brothers – Isaac, Taylor and Zac – bring an organic rock ‘n’ roll energy to the album, featuring iconic favorites like Elvis Presley’s “Blue Christmas,” Stevie Wonder’s “Someday At Christmas” and Aretha Franklin’s “Winter Wonderland,” along with a re-imagined arrangement of Paul McCartney’s “Wonderful Christmas Time” and lively renditions of modern classics like Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas.”

The album’s original songs, like the title track and “’Til New Years Night” are billed as bursting with “celebratory energy, layered vocal arrangements calling to mind the Beach Boys and British invasion-era guitar riffs,” while “Peace On Earth” highlights the band’s earnest lyrics and stalwart melodies. The album is not entirely without holiday sentimentality, closing with a rendition of “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas,” with guitarist Isaac singing lead on the Judy Garland classic, and a soulful gospel medley of two well-known songs from the Christmas hymnal, “Go Tell It On The Mountain” and “Joy To The World.”

Here is the track listing for “Finally It’s Christmas”:

1. Finally, It’s Christmas

2. A Wonderful Christmas Time

3. Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer

4. Til New Years Night

5. Please Come Home

6. Someday At Christmas

7. Joy To The Mountain

8. Jingle Bells

9. Happy Christmas

10. All I Want For Christmas

11. Winter Wonderland

12. Blue Christmas

13. Peace On Earth

14. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

As previously reported, Hanson has been celebrating the band’s 25th anniversary as well as the 20th anniversary of the its debut release “Middle Of Nowhere” – which includes the iconic single “MMMBop” that introduced the group to the world – in style throughout 2017, with a world tour, several TV appearances, induction into the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame and a new music video “I Was Born” featuring 11 of the band member’s 12 children.

“I Was Born” is the first track on Hanson’s celebratory two-disc compilation “Middle of Everywhere – The Greatest Hits,” which was released on Sept. 8.

“Finally It’s Christmas” is available for pre-order as just the album or as part of limited edition packages at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *