Hanson – Shout It Out

By | June 7, 2011

Indie London

THIRTEEN years since Hanson first hit the headlines (and the charts) with their infectious soul-inspired rock-pop (and the single MmmBop) the guys have seldom seemed fresher.

New album Shout It Out is every inch the feel-good record that they’ve been specialising in for most of their young careers – albeit one that possibly demonstrates a greater maturity.

Yes, there continue to be the effortlessly catchy radio friendly moments such as Thinkin’ ‘Bout Somethin’ and Give A Little, but there’s some great ballads mixed in that are sentimental without being overdone.

Throughout, the production values are tight, the harmonies and melodies crisp and the overall feeling one to kick back and savour.

It’s no small compliment to say that there isn’t really a bad song on the album… although there are those that stand out more than others.

Thinkin’ ‘Bout Somethin’, for instance, combines bouncy melodies with cow-horns and pianos to create an effortless crowd-pleaser, while Kiss Me When You Come Home trades on some fantastic piano chords and a really dance-worthy chorus. It’s sure to have you singing along within two or three listens.

Give A Little is surely the anthemic moment of the album… a deliriously feel-good ode to letting go that kicks off with the cutest of guitar riffs before broadening out into a celebration of positivity complete with smart stabs of brass. It’s made for dancing along to and is one of this summer’s essential feel-good records.

And I Waited, which finds drummer Zac also on vocal duty, is a smart piece of pop-rock that thrives on one of the LP’s grittier central riffs, whileUse Me Up(also featuring Zac on vocals) demonstrates the band’s ability to slow the tempo and deliver a meaningful ballad. Piano-based and dripped in sorrow, it’s a real cigarette lighter moment that, more than anything, demonstrates their maturity.

But no matter what tempo they’re operating in, Shout It Out positively brims with quality and it’s a pleasure to recommend to just about everybody.


Download picks: Thinkin’ ‘Bout Somethin’, Kiss Me When You Come Home, Give A Little, And I Waited, Use Me Up

Track listing:

  1. Waiting For This
  2. Thinkin’ ‘Bout Somethin’
  3. Kiss Me When You Come Home
  4. Carry You There
  5. Give A Little
  6. Make It Out Alive
  7. And I Waited
  8. Use Me Up
  9. These Walls
  10. Musical Ride
  11. Voice in The Chorus
  12. My Myself And I


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *